Madison County Designated For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 17, 2002
Release Number: 

Indianapolis, IN -- Disaster assistance for Madison County has been expanded to include aid for local governments affected by the recent tornadoes and severe storms in Indiana, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. Under the original declaration issued by President Bush on September 25, Madison County was designated for aid to individuals, families and business owners.

"Our continuing commitment is not only to help meet the recovery needs of devastated families and businesses," Allbaugh said, " but to ensure that the vital community services they also depend on are restored as quickly and efficiently as possible."

Under the expanded assistance, Allbaugh said affected local governments in Madison County are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities. The expanded assistance also makes cost-shared funding available to the state for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at an applicant briefing for local officials at a location to be announced shortly by state and federal disaster officials

Public assistance was expanded for Johnson, Knox, Marion, Monroe, Morgan and Posey counties on September 30. Like Madison County, these six were initially eligible for Individual Assistance. The other counties eligible for Individual Assistance are Bartholomew, Blackford, Brown, Daviess, Decatur, Delaware, Fayette, Franklin, Gibson, Grant, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Henry, Jay, Lawrence, Owen, Pike, Randolph, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Tipton and Vanderburgh.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top