Main Content

Jackson County Disaster Recovery Center To Close

Main Content
Release date: 
October 17, 2002
Release Number: 

Gulfport, MS -- Jackson County residents have until Sunday afternoon to visit the Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Pascagoula, federal and state disaster recovery officials announced today. That DRC will close at 4 p.m. on Sunday.

"The Harrison County Disaster Recovery Center in Gulfport will continue to operate at its current location," said Leon Shaifer, Mississippi State Coordinating Officer. That DRC is at the Gaston Hewes Recreation Center at 2608 17th Street and will operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily.

Federal Coordinating Officer, Mike Bolch emphasized that Jackson County residents will still be able to apply for disaster assistance by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Hearing or speech impaired individuals can call TTD 1-800-462-7585.

"People wanting to check on the status of their application, or contact an inspector, for example, can call the same FEMA telephone number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362)," said Bolch.

Disaster assistance programs include housing assistance, grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other programs, and low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration for storm-damaged homes and businesses. Disaster unemployment assistance is also available to eligible persons whose jobs were affected by the disaster.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top