Those In Jim Wells County Eligible To Apply For FEMA And State Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 7, 2002
Release Number: 

San Antonio, TX -- State and federal officials announce that individual assistance is available for residents of Jim Wells County who were affected by Tropical Storm Fay. The county was added to the list of the eligible counties based on a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

On September 26, President Bush declared nine counties in Texas as major disaster areas. The county of Jim Wells will be added to the declared counties of Brazoria, Frio, Galveston, La Salle, Live Oak, Matagorda, Nueces, San Patricio and Wharton.

Residents and business owners in the declared counties are eligible to apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush. The aid can include funding for temporary housing, U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

If you suffered damages to your home, call the FEMA registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech or hearing impaired. You may call from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week. Each application is handled on a case-by-case basis.

Callers are advised to have the following information available to help speed up the application process:

  • Your current phone number
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying.
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered
  • Good directions to the property that was damaged
  • If insured, your insurance policy number, or the agent and company name
  • General financial information.
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top