U.S. Citizenship Not Required To Apply

Main Content
Release date: 
October 4, 2002
Release Number: 

San Antonio, TX -- Non U.S. citizens that have been granted legal permanent status are eligible to apply for state and federal disaster assistance for damages and losses from Tropical Storm Fay, if they are residents of the nine counties declared as a disaster area by President Bush.

Benefits for eligible individuals and small businesses include temporary housing, Individual and Family Grants, Disaster Unemployment Assistance, Small Business Administration low interest loans and other means of assistance.

A person who is not a qualified alien, but whose minor child is a citizen, may apply for assistance on behalf of the child.

If you are in the process of applying for citizenship, requesting disaster assistance will not put your application at risk.

In order to receive FEMA assistance, applicants must certify that they are a United States citizen, a non-citizen national, or a qualified alien in the United States. After assistance awards are made, FEMA will conduct random audits of those assisted to verify U.S. citizenship and qualified alien documentation.

Qualified persons may apply for state and federal assistance by calling the FEMA tele-registration line, 800-621-FEMA (3362) or 800-462-7585 TTY for speech or hearing impaired.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top