FEMA And State Schedule Briefings For Local Officials On Infrastructure Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 2, 2002
Release Number: 

Indianapolis, IN --Briefings for local officials to explain the process of applying for federal disaster assistance for debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair, restoration and replacement of public facilities damaged in the wake of the tornadoes and severe storms have been scheduled to start Thursday, October 3, federal and state disaster recovery officials announced today.

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Director Joe M. Allbaugh approved expanded assistance to include aid for local governments for the six counties of Johnson, Knox, Marion, Monroe, Morgan and Posey following his review of damage data gathered by federal and state recovery officials.

Briefing schedule:

Thursday, October 3
Morgan County, 9:00 a.m. (EST)
County Administration Building,
Commissioners Meeting Room
South Main Street, Martinsville

Monroe County, 1:30 p.m. (EST)
Endwright Center
7500 West Reeves Road, Ellettsville

Friday, October 4
Marion County, 1:30 p.m. (EST)
Rm 101 IPD Training Academy
901 North Post Road, Indianapolis

Monday, October 7
Knox and Posey Counties, 10:00 a.m. (EST)
INDOT Administration Building, Conference Room
3650 South US 41, Vincennes

Tuesday, October 8
Johnson County, 9:00 a.m. (EST)
Emergency Operations Center
1111 Hospital Road, Franklin

"These briefings are designed to help local officials understand eligibility requirements and the reimbursement process," Patrick R. Ralston, Indiana State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) state coordinating officer, said. "But we also have a responsibility to ensure that federal, state, and local dollars are used appropriately."

Under the expanded assistance, affected local governments in these counties are eligible to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing, restoring or replacing damaged public facilities. Disaster assistance also may be provided to repair, restore and replace facilities owned by certain private non-profit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care and other essential governmental service facilities.

Government entities eligible to participate include state agencies, local governments, public utilities, and certain private non-profit organizations.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top