Main Content

Time Running Out For Disaster Vicitms To Apply For Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
August 5, 2002
Release Number: 

Moorhead, MN -- Aug. 5, 2002 Only one week remains for individuals and businesses in the 17 counties designated for individual assistance to apply for state and federal aid to replace losses from the flooding that occurred throughout Minnesota beginning June 9.

The deadline to register for disaster assistance is Tuesday, August 13.

Individuals and business owners in the eligible counties who sustained losses but still have not applied for assistance should do so by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free registration line, 1-800-621-3362. The TTY number for the hearing or speech-impaired is 1-800 462-7585. Both numbers are operational 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily.

The eligible counties include Roseau, Becker, Beltrami, Clay, Clearwater, Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, McLeod, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, and Wright.

"This is our last effort to reach out to any disaster victims who haven't registered," Jerry Rodendahl, director and state coordinating officer, Minnesota Division of Emergency Management, said.

"We don't want anyone to miss out on the assistance they are entitled to," Charles M. Butler, FEMA federal coordinating officer, said. "If you suffered damages as a result of the storms and flooding, please call and apply."

People who have already applied may call FEMA's toll-free line 1-800-621-3362, even after the deadline, to get information about the status of their application and information on assistance. The TTY number is 1-800-462-7585. Hours are 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily.

Goodhue County and Hubbard County are eligible for public assistance only. Public assistance allows local governments to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing, restoring or replacing damaged public facilities.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top