Aid For Colorado Wildfires Tops $26.5 Million Disaster Recovery Update

Main Content
Release date: 
August 5, 2002
Release Number: 
  • Colorado received a federal disaster declaration June 19 because of wildfires burning throughout the state. The initial declaration covered 56 counties and two Indian reservations. All areas were designated for the Individual Assistance Program, which provides assistance to eligible households and businesses in the form of grants or low-interest loans.

  • On Aug. 1, the declaration was extended to cover Jackson, Larimer and Weld Counties because of the Big Elk fire.

  • On July 31, a Fire Management Assistance Grant was authorized for the Panorama fire in Garfield and Eagle counties. It was the 17th such authorization for wildfires in Colorado this year.

  • As of Aug. 2, 2,519 Colorado residents and businesses have registered for disaster assistance.

  • More than $225,000 has been approved for individuals to assist with temporary housing and minor home repairs.

  • State officials have approved more than $390,000 in funds for Individual and Family Grant (IFG) assistance. IFG may be used to cover disaster-related expenses, such as essential home repairs, replacement of personal property, transportation, and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other programs.

  • Individuals and businesses may apply by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for speech- or hearing-impaired individuals. Lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. weekdays.

  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is available through the Colorado Department of Labor for those who lost income because of the disaster and are not covered by regular unemployment programs. This includes farmers, farm workers, and those who are self-employed. A total of 120 claims have been filed and $22,184 in assistance has been disbursed. The deadline for filing an application has been extended to Aug. 23.

  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved $5.92 million in low-interest disaster assistance loans.

  • The American Red Cross has operated 19 shelters housing 1,680 people. They are also providing additional assistance to fire victims through their local chapters.

  • The Salvation Army has served more than 286,000 meals and snacks to date.

  • Areas included in the disaster declaration are Adams, Alamosa, Arapahoe, Archuleta, Baca, Bent, Boulder, Broomfield (city/county), Chaffee, Cheyenne, Clear Creek, Conejos, Costilla, Crowley, Custer, Delta, Denver (city/county), Dolores, Douglas, Eagle, Elbert, El Paso, Fremont, Garfield, Gilpin, Grand, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Huerfano, Jackson Jefferson, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Lake, La Plata, Larimer, Las Animas, Lincoln, Mesa, Mineral, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Otero, Ouray, Park, Pitkin, Pueblo, Rio Blanco, Rio Grande, Routt, Saguache, San Juan, San Miguel, Summit, Teller, Washington, Weld and Yuma counties, and the Southern Ute and Ute Mountain Ute reservations.

  • Colorado has received 17 Fire Management Assistance (FMA) declarations this year. FMA Grants are made available to state and local governments and Indian tribes to minimize immediate adverse effects and to manage and control fires that threaten to cause major disasters. Under ...
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top