Aid For Colorado Wildfires Tops $25.7 Million Disaster Recovery Update

Main Content
Release date: 
July 26, 2002
Release Number: 

Denver, CO --

  • Colorado received a federal disaster declaration June 19 because of wildfires burning throughout the state. The declaration covers 56 counties and two Indian reservations.

  • All areas were designated for the Individual Assistance Program, which provides assistance to eligible households and businesses in the form of grants or low-interest loans.

  • To date, 2,424 residents and businesses have registered for disaster assistance.

  • More than $219,000 has been approved for individuals to assist with temporary housing and minor home repairs.

  • State officials have approved more than $360,000 in funds for Individual and Family Grant (IFG) assistance. IFG may be used to cover disaster-related expenses, such as essential home repairs, replacement of personal property, transportation, and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other programs.

  • Less than one month remains to apply for disaster assistance. Individuals and businesses may apply by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for speech- or hearing-impaired individuals. Lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily.

  • Federal/state Disaster Recovery Centers in Durango and Woodland Park will remain open (except this Sunday) until July 31. Hours of operation are 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. More than 1,000 people affected by the fires have sought information at the centers.

  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved $5.14 million in low-interest disaster assistance loans.

  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance is available through the Colorado Department of Labor for those who lost income because of the disaster and are not covered by regular unemployment programs. This includes farmers, farm workers, and those who are self-employed. The deadline for filing an application has been extended to Aug. 23.

  • The American Red Cross has operated 19 shelters housing 1,680 people. They are also providing additional assistance to fire victims through their local chapters.

  • The Salvation Army has served more than 286,000 meals and snacks to date. It is supporting the Disaster Recovery Centers with bottled water and refreshments. It is also providing emergency financial assistance and pastoral care at Glenwood Springs, Cañon City and Woodland Park.

  • Areas included in the disaster declaration are Adams, Alamosa, Arapahoe, Archuleta, Baca, Bent, Boulder, Broomfield (city/county), Chaffee, Cheyenne, Clear Creek, Conejos, Costilla, Crowley, Custer, Delta, Denver (city/county), Dolores, Douglas, Eagle, Elbert, El Paso, Fremont, Garfield, Gilpin, Grand, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Huerfano, Jefferson, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Lake, La Plata, Las Animas, Lincoln, Mesa, Mineral, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Otero, Ouray,...
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top