Main Content

Arizona Disaster Recovery Update July 19 - Disaster Aid Reaches Nearly $1,000,000

Main Content
Release date: 
July 20, 2002
Release Number: 

Mesa, AZ -- The state of Arizona and the federal government have made available $999,000 to the citizens of Apache, Coconino, Gila and Navajo counties and the Fort Apache Indian Reservation in the state of Arizona. This disaster assistance was made possible through the June 25 disaster declaration made by President George Bush in response to the Rodeo-Chediski fire beginning on June 18.

This amount does not include costs yet to be totaled to help the state and local governments pay for repairs to roads, bridges, buildings, equipment and eligible costs for debris removal, fire fighting and other protective measures.

Over 7,800 residents have registered for disaster assistance since President Bush declared the fire as a major disaster. Disaster assistance has been approved as follows:

  • Disaster housing checks have been issued to 488 households totaling $273,387 to assist with temporary housing and minor home repairs. Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) inspectors have completed 2,194 inspections.

  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved $523,000 in low-interest disaster loans for individuals and businesses of all sizes to repair or replace damaged property.

  • Arizona officials are currently processing 1,636 requests for Individual and Family Grant (IFG) assistance and have approved 45 requests for $202,477.

  • Help Centers have seen 5,032 victims seeking information including answers to questions about their disaster assistance applications.

  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance is still available through the Arizona Department of Economic Security for those who lost income because of the disaster. The deadline for filing an application is July 27.

  • The FEMA Helpline, at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY: 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing or speech impaired, has received 2,113 calls seeking information and answers to questions about their applications.

  • Individuals may still register for disaster assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) (TTY: 1-800-462-7585).

While most assistance offered under government programs covers basic needs only and will not compensate individuals for their entire loss, disaster recovery programs can give a helping hand to those in need on the road to recovery.

The Arizona Division of Emergency Management coordinates emergency services and the efforts of governmental agencies to reduce the impact of disasters on persons and property through disaster mitigation programs and the coordination of federal, state and local government agencies to respond to, and recover from, disasters through training and emergency response planning.

FEMA is the federal agency that coordinates response efforts to federal disasters. The agency's 10 regional offices work directly with the states to help plan for disasters, develop mitigation programs and meet needs when disasters occur. FEMA Region IX serves the states of Arizona, California, Hawaii and Nevada, as well as the territories of American Samoa and Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Republic of the Marshall Islands and the Federated States of Micronesia.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: