Federal Disaster Funds Authorized For Wisconsin To Aid Local Government Flood Recovery

Main Content
Release date: 
July 19, 2002
Release Number: 

Washington, D. C. -- Federal disaster funds have been made available for Wisconsin to help local governments recover from the effects of severe storms and flooding that struck the central and northeastern parts of the state late last month, according to the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the assistance was authorized under a major disaster declaration issued by President Bush following a review of the agency's analysis of the state's request for federal relief. The declaration covers damage to public property from the storms and flooding that occurred over the period of June 21-25.

Immediately after the President's action, Allbaugh designated eight counties eligible for federal funding to pay affected local governments 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and the repair or replacement of damaged public facilities.

The counties designated for the assistance include Adams, Clark, Dunn, Marathon, Marinette, Portage, Waushara and Wood.

In addition, Allbaugh said federal funds also will be available to the state on a cost-shared basis for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks. He indicated that additional designations may be made later if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

James L. Roche of FEMA was named by Allbaugh to coordinate federal recovery operations. Roche said procedures for requesting assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly in the affected areas.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top