Aid More Than $13 Million Five Weeks After Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
July 19, 2002
Release Number: 

Moorhead, MN -- July 19, 2002 State, federal, local and voluntary agencies continue to help Minnesota residents affected by the June 9-28 flooding. Nineteen counties are now designated to receive recovery assistance.

The following counties are eligible for assistance: Roseau, Kittson, Marshall, Lake of the Woods, Koochiching, Red Lake, Norman, Mahnomen, Clearwater, Becker, Polk, Pennington, Beltrami, Clay, Itasca, McLeod, Goodhue, Hubbard, and Wright.

Recovery services summary at close of business Thursday, July 18, 2002:

3,582 individuals have called the toll free number (800) 621-FEMA, (TDD - 800-462-7585)
to register for assistance.
2,594 home inspections have been completed.
$3,686,034 in disaster housing assistance has been approved.
$598,819 from the Individual and Family Grant program has been approved.
$8,758,400 has been approved by the U.S. Small Business Administration.
A total of $13,043,253 in grants and loans has been approved.
134 applicants have received travel trailers for temporary housing.

A total of 1,902 people visited the disaster recovery centers located in Roseau, Norman, Mahnomen, Lake of the Woods, Koochiching, and Wright Counties. The Roseau County and Wright County centers are the only centers currently open. The Wright County disaster recovery center will close at the end of the day Monday, July 22. People affected by the flood may go to either DRC for assistance with paperwork and to have registration questions answered.

For information on any of the above programs please call the FEMA toll-free number listed above.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top