Main Content

Flood Recovery Public Assistance Available In Five New Counties: Disaster-Related Expenses May Qualify For Partial Reimbursement

Main Content
Release date: 
July 16, 2002
Release Number: 

Moorhead, MN -- Goodhue, Hubbard, Itasca, McLeod and Wright counties are now eligible for public assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to help recover from the floods that swept through Minnesota beginning June 9.

In counties designated for public assistance, local governments and some non-profit organizations may qualify for partial reimbursement of personnel costs and repairs necessitated by the June 9-28 flooding. The federal government pays 75 percent of approved expenses.

"We continue damage assessments after the initial disaster declaration is made by the President," said C. Michel Butler, federal coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). "We want to ensure that help is available to those individuals, businesses and governments that were significantly affected by the floods."

Individual and public assistance is now available in 17 counties: Roseau, Kittson, Marshall, Lake of the Woods, Koochiching, Red Lake, Norman, Mahnomen, Clearwater, Becker, Polk, Pennington, Beltrami, Clay, Itasca, McLeod, and Wright. Only public assistance is available in Goodhue and Hubbard counties.

Officials from eligible agencies in the counties will be meeting with federal and state representatives over the next few weeks to survey damage and complete applications for funding.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: