Main Content

Disaster Unemployment Assistance And Other Economic Programs Available For Those Affected By Fire

Release date: 
July 16, 2002
Release Number: 

Mesa, AZ -- The State of Arizona and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) want to remind individuals and businesses that suffered economic losses as a result of the Rodeo-Chediski fire that there are a variety of assistance programs available.

"Many people whose homes were spared from the fire were put out of work or had other economic losses that may be eligible for some disaster assistance," said Director of Arizona Division of Emergency Management Michael P. Austin. "We urge anyone affected by the fire to call and register today."

Operators are available to offer assistance between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. seven days a week at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or for the hearing or speech impaired TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Disaster assistance programs include:

  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA)
  • Temporary Housing and Emergency Home Repair
  • Low-interest loans for individuals and businesses of all sizes
  • Individual and Family Grants (IFG)
  • Mortgage and Rental Assistance
  • Tax relief

The deadline to file for disaster unemployment Assistance (DUA) is July 27, 2002. DUA benefits are for those who:

  • Are unable to work because their place of employment was put out of operation or those who are unable to travel to their work place due to the effects of the fire.
  • Are self-employed but are prevented from working due to the fire (must provide income tax forms, schedules SE and C or F or other proof of self-employment).
  • Have become major support of a household because the head of the household cannot work due to a disaster-related injury.
  • Cannot work because of an injury or illness caused as a direct result of the disaster.

To be eligible for DUA benefits, applicants must live or work in one of the declared areas in the counties of Apache, Coconino, Gila and Navajo and the Fort Apache Indian Reservation.

For more information regarding filing options, call toll free statewide: 1-866-213-8721 and within the Phoenix Metro area: 602-364-1650.

The Arizona Division of Emergency Management coordinates emergency services and the efforts of governmental agencies to reduce the impact of disasters on persons and property through disaster mitigation programs and the coordination of federal, state and local government agencies to respond to, and recover from, disasters through training and emergency response planning.

FEMA is the federal agency that coordinates response efforts to federal disasters. The agency's 10 regional offices work directly with the states to help plan for disasters, develop mitigation programs and meet needs when disasters occur. FEMA Region IX serves the states of Arizona, California, Hawaii and Nevada, as well as the territories of American Samoa and Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Republic of the Marshall Islands and the Federated States of Micronesia.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: