Main Content

Dearborn, Orange Counties Now Eligible For Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
July 16, 2002
Release Number: 

Indianapolis, IN -- Disaster assistance is now available to help individuals and businesses in Dearborn and Orange counties recover from the effects of the storms and flooding that occurred from April 28 through June 7, 2002.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the counties had been added to the list of eligible jurisdictions based on a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. Clay, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Hamilton, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Marion, Martin, Montgomery, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Sullivan, Vigo and Washington counties had already been designated as eligible for Individual Assistance.

Residents and business owners in counties eligible for Individual Assistance can apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on June 13, 2002. Aid can include funding for temporary housing, U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

Affected residents and business owners in the 22 counties now eligible for Individual Assistance may apply immediately by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, 800 621-3362, between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. EST Monday through Friday until August 12, 2002. Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 800 462-7585.

Dearborn and Orange counties on June 13 were made eligible for the Public Assistance Program, making federal funds available to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads , buildings and utilities.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: