Disaster Assistance Approaches $11.5 million

Main Content
Release date: 
July 15, 2002
Release Number: 

Columbia, MO -- Disaster officials report that federal disaster aid approved for Missouri has increased to almost $11.5 million. This aid was made available following President Bush's May 6 disaster declaration.

According to the Missouri State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), the number of counties included is 79. Of those, nine are eligible for Individual Assistance programs only, 31 for the Public Assistance program only and 39 for both forms of assistance.

Assistance approved to date includes:

  • 1,608 applications for assistance received
  • 921 disaster housing grants totaling $1,623,551
  • 1,214 housing inspections issued; 1,209 completed
  • SBA loan applications approved total $5,046,500
  • Individual and Family Grants total $1,211,907

Individual Assistance includes grants to help pay for temporary housing, emergency home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the SBA are the primary form of assistance available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

For residents of the 48 Missouri counties designated for Individual Assistance, the last day to apply for assistance was Monday, July 8. Counties declared for Individual Assistance only are Dunklin, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Jefferson, New Madrid, Newton, St. Francois and Washington.

Missouri counties where both Individual and Public Assistance are available are Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Butler, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Cedar, Christian, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Howell, Iron, Laclede, Lawrence, Madison, McDonald, Mississippi, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Perry, Polk, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, Ste. Genevieve, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Wayne, Webster and Wright.

Public Assistance is provided on a cost-share basis to state and local governments and some non-profit organizations. The grants can be used to replace or repair disaster-damaged public facilities. FEMA has received 330 Requests for Public Assistance and obligated $3,568,487.

Counties eligible for Public Assistance only are Adair, Boone, Carroll, Chariton, Clark, Cooper, Dekalb, Grundy, Howard, Johnson, Knox, Lafayette, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Maries, Marion, Mercer, Miller, Osage, Phelps, Pike, Pulaski, Ralls, Ray, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby and Sullivan.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top