Sullivan County Now Eligible For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 12, 2002
Release Number: 

Indianapolis, IN -- Sullivan County has been added to the list of disaster-designated counties in Indiana. Disaster assistance is now available to help individuals and businesses recover from the effects of the storms and flooding that occurred from April 28 thru June 7, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said Sullivan County had been added to the list of eligible jurisdictions based on a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. Clay, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Hamilton, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Marion, Martin, Montgomery, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Vigo and Washington counties had already been designated as eligible for Individual Assistance.

Allbaugh said that residents and business owners in counties eligible for Individual Assistance can apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on June 13, 2002. Aid can include funding for temporary housing, U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

Affected residents and business owners in the 20 counties now eligible for Individual Assistance may apply immediately by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, 800 621-3362, between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. Monday through Friday until August 12. Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 800 462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top