One Month Left To Apply For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 12, 2002
Release Number: 

Indianapolis, IN -- One month remains for residents and business owners in the 19 counties designated eligible for individual assistance to apply for federal aid to cover losses from the storms and flooding that occurred from April 28 to June 7, 2002.

The deadline to apply for disaster assistance is August 12, 2002.

Individuals and business owners in declared counties who sustained losses but still have not applied for assistance should do so by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free registration number, 800 621-3362. The TTY number for the hearing or speech-impaired is 800 462-7585. Both numbers are operational 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Eligible counties include: Clay, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Hamilton, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Marion, Martin, Montgomery, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Vigo and Washington.

"We want to remind any disaster victims who still haven't applied for assistance that they should apply as soon as possible," said Gracia Szczech, Federal Coordinating Officer with FEMA. "We don't want anyone to miss out on the assistance available, so if you suffered damages as a result of the storms and flooding, please call now to apply," Szczech added.

People who have already applied may call 800 621-3362, even after the deadline, to get information about the status of their application and information on assistance. The TTY number is 800 462-7585. Phone lines are available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top