Main Content

Aid Nears $7 Million One Month After Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
July 12, 2002
Release Number: 

Moorhead, MN -- State, federal, local and voluntary agencies continue to help Minnesota residents affected by the June 9-28 flooding. Seventeen counties are now designated to receive recovery assistance.

The following counties are eligible for assistance: Roseau, Kittson, Marshall, Lake of the Woods, Koochiching, Red Lake, Norman, Mahnomen, Clearwater, Becker, Polk, Pennington, Beltrami, Clay, Itasca, McLeod, and Wright.

Recovery services summary at close of business Thursday, July 11, 2002:

  • 2,999 individuals have called the toll free number (800) 621-FEMA, (TDD - 800-462-7585).

  • 2,111 of 2,399 home inspections issued have been completed.

  • 250 applications for public assistance have been received.

  • $3,113,830 in disaster housing assistance has been approved and $2.9 million has been dispersed.

  • $439,445 from the Individual and Family Grant program has been approved.

  • $3,470,100 has been approved by the U.S. Small Business Administration.

  • 122 applicants have leased travel trailers for temporary housing.

  • 1,501 people have visited the disaster recovery centers located in Roseau, Norman, Mahnomen, Lake of the Woods, and Koochiching Counties. These centers, with the exception of Roseau, will close on July 13.

  • 1 new disaster recovery center will be open Monday, July 15 through Monday, July 22 (closed Sunday) in Wright County. People affected by the flood may go to the DRC for assistance with paperwork and to have registration questions answered.

More information is available on FEMA's For the Media site, at, and radio actualities are available from the FEMA Radio Network (800) 323-5248

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top