Main Content

Wright County Disaster Recovery Center Opens

Release date: 
July 11, 2002
Release Number: 

Moorhead, MN -- Officials from the Minnesota Division of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are establishing an additional temporary Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) to assist individuals affected by the recent floods. The center will be open in Howard Lake from Monday, July 15 until close of business on Monday, July 22, except for Sunday. The Wright County center will be located at:

Waverly Winsted School
801 Eighth Ave.
Howard lake MN 55349
OPEN 11 a.m. - 7 p.m. Monday through Saturday
Closed Sunday

The Center will provide answers to questions, recovery information, and written materials about various assistance programs available to individuals and business owners. Some disaster programs include temporary housing assistance, individual and family grants, low interest disaster loans, and disaster unemployment assistance.

Some of the State agencies participating at the Disaster Recovery Centers will include Department of Health, Department of Economic Security (unemployment assistance) and the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency. The Small Business Administration (SBA) will have loan officers there to assist disaster victims with home and business loans. Hazard Mitigation will also have counselors on location.

Individuals who have been affected by the disaster are urged to start the application process by calling FEMA's toll-free number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Hearing and speech impaired individuals may call TTY at 1-800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: