Main Content

Seven Additional Flood Affected Counties To Receive Assistance June Flooding Disaster Declaration Continues To Expand

Release date: 
July 9, 2002
Release Number: 

Moorhead, MN -- Seven additional counties have been designated to receive federal disaster assistance following the floods that began on June 9. Four of these counties (Beltrami, Clay, Polk and Pennington) have already qualified for public assistance, but will now be eligible for individual assistance. Itasca, Wright and McLeod have also been added for individual assistance.

"President Bush declared Roseau County eligible for both individual and public assistance after the flooding that began June 9. It is our policy to continue damage assessments in other counties as needs are identified," said Joan Rave, chief of staff for the federal disaster recovery. "These recent designations bring to 17 the number of counties now eligible for individual disaster assistance."

Initially, Roseau County received the disaster declaration on June 14. In late June, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, and Red Lake were added to the declaration for individual assistance. On July 1, Becker and Clearwater were also designated for individual assistance. All counties qualify for public assistance and the entire state is qualified for hazard mitigation.

Residents and business owners located in counties designated for individual assistance may be eligible for FEMA disaster housing assistance, low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) to repair or replace storm-damaged property, or grants from the state for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

Counties designated for public assistance may qualify for federal funding for the removal of debris and the repair of storm-damaged public facilities such as roads and bridges.

State and federal officials urge disaster victims in all the declared counties to call the registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585. This is the first and most important step in receiving assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: