FEMA's Disaster Information Helpline Available To Victims Of Rodeo-Chediski Fire

Main Content
Release date: 
July 9, 2002
Release Number: 

Mesa, AZ -- A Disaster Information Helpline has been established for persons who have been affected by the Rodeo-Chediski fire that began June 18 in Arizona and need information about programs, or the status of their applications for aid.

The toll-free number is 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). People with hearing or speech impairments who use electronic telecommunication equipment may call the TTY Helpline at 1-800-462-7585.

Representatives from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Arizona's Division of Emergency Management (ADEM) are encouraging anyone with questions about disaster assistance recovery programs to call the Helpline seven days a week between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m.

"Disaster victims can learn about housing programs and grants by calling this number," said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Scott Wells. "Fire disaster victims can register for assistance, and those who have already applied may quickly learn the status of their FEMA applications by calling the Helpline and providing the operator with their registration I.D." For information about SBA disaster loans, individuals and business owners may call SBA direct at 1-800-488-5323.

President Bush signed a major disaster declaration June 25, making residents and businesses in the Arizona counties of Apache and Navajo and the Fort Apache Indian Reservation eligible to apply for disaster assistance. The counties of Coconino and Gila were added to the disaster declaration on July 2.

Renters, homeowners and business owners in the designated counties may still apply for assistance by calling FEMA's registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 seven days a week from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The Arizona Division of Emergency Management coordinates emergency services and the efforts of governmental agencies to reduce the impact of disasters on persons and property through disaster mitigation programs and the coordination of federal, state and local government agencies to respond to, and recover from, disasters through training and emergency response planning.

FEMA is the federal agency that coordinates response efforts to federal disasters. The agency's 10 regional offices work directly with the states to help plan for disasters, develop mitigation programs and meet needs when disasters occur. FEMA Region IX serves the states of Arizona, California, Hawaii and Nevada, as well as the territories of American Samoa and Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Republic of the Marshall Islands and the Federated States of Micronesia.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top