Public Assistance Briefings Scheduled In Apache And Navajo Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
July 8, 2002
Release Number: 

Mesa, AZ -- Substantial federal financial assistance is available to help Arizona communities in Navajo and Apache Counties deal with the extraordinary costs associated with the Rodeo-Chediski fire. These funds are available as a result of President Bush's June 25, 2002, disaster declaration, which was requested by Governor Jane Dee Hull. Applicant briefings will be held to explain the Public Assistance process to local city and county officials.

"This fire has devastated roads, bridges, buildings, and equipment and burdened municipal resources for debris removal, fire fighting and other protective measures in many communities," Director of Arizona's Division of Emergency Management (ADEM) Michael P. Austin said. "Most of these communities would be hard-pressed to cover these costs without the help of federal disaster assistance."

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Public Assistance program reimburses 75 percent of eligible expenses in accordance with the Robert T. Stafford Act. These include costs for the repair and replacement of disaster-damaged public facilities, as well as the costs of debris removal and overtime for emergency protective services. State and local governments share the remaining 25 percent of the costs.

Political subdivisions, government agencies and some private non-profit organizations seeking federal reimbursement for costs incurred because of the disaster are encouraged to file the necessary Request for Public Assistance form with ADEM. Forms must be filed by July 24, 2002. For further information, contact the ADEM/FEMA Disaster Field Office at 480-649-2100.

The applicant briefings will be held to explain the Public Assistance process to local city and county officials at the following locations:

  • Navajo County: Northland Pioneer College-Symposium Room, 1610 S. Main St., Snowflake, Tuesday, July 9, at 1:00 p.m.
  • Apache County: County Manager's Office, 75 W. Cleveland, St. Johns, Wednesday, July 10, at 10:00 a.m.

FEMA is the federal agency that coordinates response efforts to federal disasters. The agency's 10 regional offices work directly with the states to help plan for disasters, develop mitigation programs and meet needs when disasters occur. FEMA Region IX serves the states of Arizona, California, Hawaii and Nevada, as well as the territories of American Samoa and Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Republic of the Marshall Islands and the Federated States of Micronesia.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top