Main Content

Payson Help Center To Close Helpline Still Available

Main Content
Release date: 
July 8, 2002
Release Number: 

Mesa, AZ -- The state of Arizona and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will close the Help Center in Payson at Eastern Arizona College, 201 Mud Springs Road, Wednesday, July 10, at 7:00 p.m.

The Help Centers in Show Low, Heber and the mobile center on the Fort Apache Indian reservation rotating between Cibeque and White River will remain open to offer help to homeowners, renters and businesses in Arizona who may be eligible for state and federal assistance under a presidential declaration for the Rodeo-Chediski fire.

"The Help Centers provide an opportunity to learn more about federal and state assistance programs and to check on the status of an application," said Director of Arizona's Division of Emergency Management Michael P. Austin. "Those who have not registered may still register for assistance by calling toll-free
1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing or speech impaired," he said.

Disaster assistance programs include housing assistance and expenses not covered by insurance or other programs, and low interest loans to individuals and businesses of all sizes from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). Disaster unemployment assistance, tax assistance and other special services are also available to eligible persons affected by the disaster.

"People who have registered for assistance can call the toll-free FEMA Helpline 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 to find out about assistance programs, receive answers to their questions or find out the status of their application." Federal Coordinating Officer Scott Wells said.

FEMA is the federal agency that coordinates response efforts to federal disasters. The agency's 10 regional offices work directly with the states to help plan for disasters, develop mitigation programs and meet needs when disasters occur. FEMA Region IX serves the states of Arizona, California, Hawaii and Nevada, as well as the territories of American Samoa and Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Republic of the Marshall Islands the and the Federated States of Micronesia.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: