Disaster Assistance Approaches $9.5 Million; Application Deadline Monday

Main Content
Release date: 
July 5, 2002
Release Number: 

Columbia, MO -- Disaster officials report that federal disaster aid approved for Missouri has increased to almost $9.5 million as the deadline to apply for assistance approaches.

According to the Missouri State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), the number of counties included in President Bush's May 6 disaster declaration is currently 79. Of those, nine are eligible for Individual Assistance programs only, 31 for the Public Assistance program only and 39 for both forms of assistance.

Individual Assistance includes grants to help pay for temporary housing, emergency home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the SBA are the primary form of assistance available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance. Assistance approved to date includes:

  • 1,573 applications for assistance received
  • 888 disaster housing grants totaling $1,564,220
  • 1,194 housing inspections issued; 1,174 completed
  • SBA loan applications approved total $4,837,800
  • Individual and Family Grants total $1,188,207

For residents of the 48 Missouri counties designated for Individual Assistance, the last day to apply for assistance is Monday, July 8. Anyone who had storm-related damages between April 24 and June 10 should register through the toll-free numbers: 800-321-FEMA (3362) or TTY: 800-462-7585.

Counties declared for Individual Assistance only are Dunklin, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Jefferson, New Madrid, Newton, St. Francois and Washington. Missouri counties where both forms of assistance are available are Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Butler, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Cedar, Christian, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Howell, Iron, Laclede, Lawrence, Madison, McDonald, Mississippi, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Perry, Polk, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, Ste. Genevieve, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Wayne, Webster and Wright.

Public Assistance is provided on a cost-share basis to state and local governments and some non-profit organizations. The grants can be used to replace or repair disaster-damaged public facilities. FEMA has received 326 Requests for Public Assistance and obligated $1,909,101.

Counties eligible for Public Assistance only are Adair, Boone, Carroll, Chariton, Clark, Cooper, Dekalb, Grundy, Howard, Johnson, Knox, Lafayette, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Maries, Marion, Mercer, Miller, Osage, Phelps, Pike, Pulaski, Ralls, Ray, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby and Sullivan.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top