Colorado Disaster Recovery Update

Main Content
Release date: 
July 5, 2002
Release Number: 
  • Colorado received a federal disaster declaration June 19 because of wildfires burning throughout the state. The declaration covers 56 counties and two Indian reservations.

  • All areas were designated for the Individual Assistance Program, which provides assistance to eligible households and businesses in the form of grants or low-interest loans.

  • To date, 1,743 residents and businesses have registered for disaster assistance.

  • More than $136,000 has been approved for individuals to assist with temporary housing and minor home repairs.

  • State officials have approved more than $99,000 in funds for Individual and Family Grant (IFG) assistance. IFG may be used to cover disaster-related expenses, such as essential home repairs, replacement of personal property, transportation, and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other programs.

  • Individuals and businesses may apply for disaster assistance by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for speech- or hearing-impaired individuals. Lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily.

  • Federal/state Disaster Recovery Centers have been established at Ca?n City, Durango, Woodland Park and Glenwood Springs. At these centers, individuals can meet face-to-face with disaster recovery officials to ask questions about disaster assistance.

  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved more than $457,000 in low-interest disaster assistance loans.

  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance is available through the Colorado Department of Labor for those who lost income because of the disaster and are not covered by regular unemployment programs, including farmers, farm workers, and other self-employed persons. The deadline for filing an application is July 24.

  • The American Red Cross has operated 23 shelters housing 1,605 people. One shelter remains open, housing 31. The Red Cross has also provided more than 132,000 meals and has four service centers open serving those affected by the fires.

  • The Salvation Army has served a total of 308,425 meals and snacks to date. They are supporting the Disaster Recovery Centers with bottled water. They are also providing emergency financial assistance at Glenwood Springs, Ca?n City and Woodland Park.

  • Areas included in the disaster declaration include the counties of Adams, Alamosa, Arapahoe, Archuleta, Baca, Bent, Boulder, Broomfield (including city), Chaffee, Cheyenne, Clear Creek, Conejos, Costilla, Crowley, Custer, Delta, Denver (including city), Dolores, Douglas, Eagle, Elbert, El Paso, Fremont, Garfield, Gilpin, Grand, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Huerfano, Jefferson, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Lake, La Plata, Las Animas, Lincoln, Mesa, Mineral, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Otero, Ouray, Park, Pitkin, Pueblo, Rio Blanco, Rio Grande, Routt, Saguache, San Juan, San Miguel, Summit, Teller, Washington, and Yuma, and the Southern Ute and Ute Mountain Ute Reservation.

  • In addition to the June 19 disaster declaration, Col...
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top