National Flood Insurance Program

Main Content
Release date: 
July 2, 2002
Release Number: 
  • The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) is a federal program enabling property owners in participating communities to purchase insurance protection against losses from flooding.

  • The NFIP is administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Flood damage is not covered by standard homeowners insurance policies. Flood insurance can be purchased through your local insurance agent. NFIP is sold through private insurance companies and backed by the federal government.

  • Most everyone can and should have flood insurance. Anyone can be flooded-you don't have to be in a flood plain. Of flood claims paid, approximately 30 percent are for property not in the flood plain.

  • The average policy costs a little more than $300 a year. Homes can be insured up to $250,000 for the building and $100,000 for the contents. Renters can insure their belongings.

  • Flood insurance can be purchased at any time, but there is a 30-day waiting period after application and payment before the policy becomes effective. The 30-day waiting period does not apply when: a new loan is obtained or an existing loan is increased, extended or renewed and secured by the property for which the loan was made.

  • Flood insurance will pay for flood damage whether or not there is a federal disaster. Federal disaster declarations are issued in less than 50 percent of flooding incidents.

  • More than 90 percent of all presidentially-declared disasters include flooding.

For information, call the National Flood Insurance Program toll-free at 1-800-427-4661.Homeowners, renters and business owners can call for the names of local agents who handle flood insurance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top