Main Content

Federal Disaster Help Expanded for Clearwater, Kittson and Becker Counties 14 counties now eligible for recovery assistance

Release date: 
July 1, 2002
Release Number: 

Moorhead, MN -- Clearwater County has been added to the federal disaster declaration for recovery assistance, bringing the total number of counties qualifying for federal help to fourteen. Federal assistance for Kittson County has been expanded to include help for infrastructure; Becker County has been expanded to include individual assistance.

"Our review of additional information indicates enough significant damage to expand the types of disaster assistance in Clearwater, Becker and Kittson counties," said Ron Sherman, deputy federal coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Residents and business owners located in counties approved for individual assistance may be eligible for FEMA temporary housing assistance, low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) to repair or replace storm-damaged property, or grants from the state for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs. Counties currently declared for individual assistance include Roseau, Becker, Clearwater, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Koochiching, Red Lake, Norman, and Mahnomen counties.

Counties approved for public assistance may be eligible for federal funding for the removal of debris and the repair of storm-damaged public facilities such as roads and bridges. Kittson and Clearwater counties now qualify for public assistance, along with Becker, Beltrami, Clay, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake and Roseau counties.

State and federal officials urge all disaster victims in the declared counties to call the registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TDD 1-800-462-7585 to register or for more information.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: