Thirty Indiana Counties Now Eligible for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 27, 2002
Release Number: 

Indianapolis, IN -- Disaster assistance is now available for 30 Indiana counties to help residents and local governments recover from the effects of the storms and flooding that occurred from April 28 thru June 7, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said two counties, Clay and Perry, had been added to the total list of eligible jurisdictions based on a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. Clay, Greene, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Montgomery, Owen, Parke, Perry, Putnam and Washington counties are now eligible for Individual Assistance along with the earlier declared counties of Dubois, Gibson, Hamilton, Marion, Martin, Pike, Posey and Vigo.

Allbaugh said that residents and business owners in counties eligible for Individual Assistance can apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on June 13. Aid can include funding for temporary housing, U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

In addition, federal Public Assistance will be available to Perry County along with those counties previously declared eligible to receive reimbursement of 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities. Counties now able to receive Public Assistance funding include: Brown, Crawford, Dearborn, Dubois, Franklin, Gibson, Greene, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Martin, Montgomery, Ohio, Orange, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Sullivan, Switzerland, Union, Vermillion, Vigo, Washington.

Affected residents and business owners in the 19 counties now eligible for Individual Assistance may apply immediately by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, 800 621-3362, between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. EST seven days a week. Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 800 462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top