Main Content

Additional Alaska Jurisdictions Designated For Aid To Local Governments

Release date: 
June 27, 2002
Release Number: 

Washington, D.C. -- The head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that additional Alaska jurisdictions have been designated for federal aid to help local governments recover from the effects of the recent floods.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the assistance was approved following further evaluation of the state's request for federal aid.

"Ensuring that vital community services are restored as quickly as possible is part of our commitment to help Alaska achieve a full and lasting recovery," Allbaugh said.

According to Allbaugh, affected local governments in the following jurisdictions are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and restoring damaged public facilities: the borough Fairbanks North Star; the villages of McGrath and Lime in the Iditarod Regional Education Attendance (REAA); the villages of Aniak, Crooked Creek, Red Devil and Sleetmute in the Kuspuk REAA; the village of Kwethluk in the Lower Kuskokwim REAA; and the villages of Ekwok and New Stuyahok in the Southwest Region REAA.

The funds were authorized under the major disaster declaration issued for the state by President Bush yesterday and made available through FEMA's public assistance program for state and local governments.

Federal Coordinating Officer William Lokey of FEMA said procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings to be conducted by state and federal disaster officials at locations to be announced shortly in the designated areas.

Last Updated: 
March 29, 2016 - 20:05
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: