Main Content

FEMA/State Disaster Recovery Centers To Close Friday, June 28

Main Content
Release date: 
June 24, 2002
Release Number: 

Beckley, WV -- Disaster Recovery Centers operating in Bradshaw, Iaeger, Northfork and Welch will close on Friday, officials announced today. State and federal officials set up the centers for residents who sustained damages from the May severe storms, floods and landslides in West Virginia. To date, the centers have received 3,773 visits from disaster-assistance applicants, though the number of those visiting the centers lately has declined.

"The Disaster Recovery Centers will be operating through 5 p.m. Friday, June 28," Steve Kappa, director of the West Virginia Office of Emergency Services, said. "But even after the centers close, help will be as close as a telephone call away," Justo Hernandez said. Hernandez, of FEMA, is Kappa's federal partner tapped by President Bush to coordinate federal response to the disaster.

Until Friday, Disaster Recovery Centers will continue to operate from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., at the following locations:

Town Hall
Main Street (Rt. 83)

City Hall
Main Street (Rt. 52)

City Hall
Freibursch Avenue (Rt. 52)

Steven's Facility
791 Virginia Ave. (Rt. 52)

Eventhough the centers are closing, disaster victims may still register for assistance by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with difficulty hearing or speaking can call TTY 1-800-462-7585. "People also can call to find out about assistance programs and the status of their applications," Hernandez said.

Disaster-assistance programs include temporary-housing assistance, grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other programs, and low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration for disaster-damaged residential, business and agricultural property.

Officials urge those affected by the disaster to start the application process as soon as possible and before visiting a center by calling FEMA's toll-free number by July 5, the last day to apply.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: