Kentucky Disaster Assistance Nears $30 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
June 21, 2002
Release Number: 

London, KY -- Kentucky residents who have been ravaged by floods, tornadoes, severe winds and hailstorms throughout the spring have received $29.4 million in state and federal disaster recovery assistance to begin rebuilding their lives.

Through Thursday, the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) toll-free registration numbers had received 6,408 applications for assistance. Those telephone numbers are 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) and TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired.

Fifty-two Kentucky counties were included in two presidential disaster declarations dating back to April 4.

Assistance to individuals, families and business owners has been approved as follows:

  • $7,093,104 for disaster housing
  • $4,913,869 for individual and family grants
  • $17,396,200 in U. S. Small Business Administration loans to homeowners and businesses
  • $11,314,567 to local governments for debris removal and infrastructure repairs.

Residents who have suffered flood, hail, or wind damage in the 32 commonwealth counties declared disaster areas in the second presidential disaster declaration on May 7 may apply for disaster recovery assistance through July 8.

Those counties are Boyle, Breckinridge, Casey, Clay, Crittenden, Floyd, Grayson, Hancock, Hardin, Henderson, Hopkins, Jackson, Knott, Knox, Larue, Laurel, Letcher, Marion, Martin, McCreary, McLean, Meade, Nelson, Ohio, Pike, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Taylor, Union, Washington, Webster and Whitley.

Kentucky Disaster Recovery Update June 21

Figures listed below are as of close of business Thursday, June 20 and reflect approved claims.

Not all applicants are eligible for Disaster Housing assistance.


County Total Applications Approved Disaster Housing Funds
Bath 57 $109,843
Bell 280 $419,536
Bourbon * $845
Boyd 204 $356,444
Carter 336 $590,572
Clay 39 $50,231
Elliott 23 $42,731
Fleming 15 $7,492
Floyd 61 $79,574
Greenup 148 $323,747
Harlan 866 $1,218,524
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top