Main Content

Deadline Nears for Applying for Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
June 21, 2002
Release Number: 

London, KY -- Kentucky disaster victims who have not yet applied for federal disaster assistance have only two more weeks to apply. July 8 is the last day to file applications for most disaster assistance programs, according to federal and state disaster recovery officials.

Renters, homeowners or business owners who live or do business in one of the 32 counties declared a disaster area under the May 7 Presidential declaration may be eligible for disaster aid.

The 32 counties are Boyle, Breckinridge, Casey, Clay, Crittenden, Floyd, Grayson, Hancock, Hardin, Henderson, Hopkins, Jackson, Knott, Knox, Larue, Laurel, Letcher, Marion, Martin, McCreary, McLean, Meade, Nelson, Ohio, Pike, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Taylor, Union, Washington, Webster and Whitley.

Federal Coordinating Officer Mike Bolch of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and State Coordinating Officer Cash Centers urge those who have not done so to apply as soon as possible by calling the toll-free registration line, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), to register for assistance. People with hearing or speech impairments can call TTY 1-800-462-7585 for assistance. Registration can be made between 8:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m., EDT (7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Central Time), Monday through Friday.

Applicants may qualify for assistance under several federal and state programs such as disaster housing assistance, grants to meet disaster-related needs, or U.S. Small Business Administration disaster loans (SBA). Loan applications must be completed and returned to SBA by July 6. Businesses applying for Economic Injury Disaster Loans have until February 7, 2003 to submit applications.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: