Main Content

FEMA and State Schedule Briefings on Infrastructure Assistance

Release date: 
June 20, 2002
Release Number: 

Indianapolis, IN -- The process for local governments to apply for federal disaster assistance for debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair, restoration and replacement of public facilities damaged in the wake of the severe storms and flooding that occurred from April 28 thru June 7 has begun for several communities.

Briefings on federal disaster aid programs are scheduled for local officials, and damage inspection teams are ready to go into the field, according to a joint announcement from Patrick R. Ralston, State Coordinating Officer, and Gracia Szczech, Federal Coordinating Officer for the disaster recovery effort.

To assist public agencies in applying for funding, Ralston said briefings have been arranged in six counties to explain in detail the procedures to follow when applying for federal disaster assistance in the recovery efforts of local communities. A briefing schedule follows:

Tuesday, June 25

Vigo County, 8:30 a.m. EST
Army Reserve Building
401 E. Davis Drive, Terre Haute, IN

Knox County, 2:00 p.m. EST
INDOT Administration Building, Conference Room
3650 South US 41, Vincennes, IN

Wednesday, June 26

Dubois County, 8:30 a.m. EST
County Commissioners Chambers
CO Annex Building (East Side Courthouse), Jasper, IN

Jackson County, 2:00 p.m. EST
INDOT Administration Building, Conference Room
185 Agrico Lane, Seymour, IN

Thursday, June 27

Dearborn County, 8:30 a.m. EST, 9:30 a.m. EDT
Ivy Tech State College
500 Industrial Drive, Lawrenceburg, IN

Friday, June 28

Johnson County, 1:00 p.m. EST
Emergency Operations Center (Basement of Sheriff's Department)
1111 Hospital Road, Franklin, IN

As a result of the Presidential disaster declaration of June 13, 26 Indiana counties were made eligible for public assistance. Those counties are: Brown, Crawford, Dearborn, Dubois, Franklin, Gibson, Greene, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Martin, Montgomery, Ohio, Orange, Owen, Parke, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Sullivan, Switzerland, Union, Vermillion, Vigo and Washington.

Affected local governments in these counties are eligible to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing, restoring or replacing damaged public facilities. Disaster assistance also may be provided to repair, restore and replace facilities owned by certain private non-profit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care and other essential governmental service facilities.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: