Disaster Aid To Individuals And Businesses Exceeds $6.3 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
June 19, 2002
Release Number: 

Columbia, MO -- The number of counties included in President Bush's May 6 disaster declaration is currently 79. Of those, ten are eligible for Individual Assistance only, 31 for Public Assistance only and 38 for both forms of assistance.

Individual Assistance includes grants to help pay for temporary housing, emergency home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are the primary form of assistance available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

The Missouri State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the SBA report the following disaster recovery data, which reflect total assistance to individuals, families and businesses of more than $6.3 million:

  • 1,455 applications for assistance received
  • 780 disaster housing grants totaling $1,396,851
  • 1,092 housing inspections issued; 1,056 completed
  • SBA loan applications approved total $3,883,700
  • Individual and Family Grants total $1,085,881
  • 621 people visited Disaster Recovery Centers

Public Assistance is provided on a cost-share basis to state and local governments and some non-profit organizations. The grants can be used to replace or repair disaster-damaged public facilities. FEMA has received 259 applications for Public Assistance and obligated $876,520.

Missouri counties where both forms of assistance are available are Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Butler, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Cedar, Christian, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Howell, Iron, Laclede, Lawrence, Madison, McDonald, Mississippi, Oregon, Ozark, Perry, Polk, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, Ste. Genevieve, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Wayne, Webster and Wright.

Counties declared for Individual Assistance only are Dunklin, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Jefferson, New Madrid, Newton, Pemiscot, St. Francois and Washington.

Those eligible for Public Assistance only are Adair, Boone, Carroll, Chariton, Clark, Cooper, Dekalb, Grundy, Howard, Johnson, Knox, Lafayette, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Maries, Marion, Mercer, Miller, Osage, Phelps, Pike, Pulaski, Ralls, Ray, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby and Sullivan.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top