Main Content

Deadline For Disaster Unemployment Assistance Approaching

Release date: 
June 18, 2002
Release Number: 

Springfield, IL -- Residents of 30 southern Illinois counties who were unemployed as a result of severe storms, tornadoes and flooding, have until Monday (June 24) to apply for federal Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) benefits, state and federal recovery officials said today. Residents of the 38 counties in the central part of the state, who were added on to the original declaration, have until July 3, to apply.

Recovery officials noted that these deadlines were for DUA only. Disaster victims still may apply for other assistance programs until July 20. The toll-free number is 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

"The DUA program, which is administered by the Illinois Department of Employment Security (IDES), extends coverage to self-employed people, part-time workers, farm workers and others who have lost employment as a direct result of the disaster which occurred between April 21 and May 23, and who are otherwise ineligible for Illinois state unemployment program benefits," Mike Chamness, state coordinating officer, said.

The availability of this program was triggered by President Bush?s disaster declaration for parts of Illinois and extends to those living or working in any of the 68 central and southern counties eligible for individual assistance. The program is 100 percent funded by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The maximum benefits under the DUA program are $431 a week for a claimant with a dependent child, $385 for a claimant with a dependent spouse and $326 a week for an individual claimant.

"The program is designed to help those whose employment was interrupted by the disaster," said Robert Colangelo, federal coordinating officer for FEMA. "It helps them make ends meet until they can get back to work or resume their customary employment."

Initially, 30 counties in the southern part of the state were declared eligible to apply for DUA. The original counties with a DUA deadline of June 24 are: Alexander, Clay, Clinton, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Massac, Monroe, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Richland, St. Clair, Saline, Union, Washington, Wayne, White and Williamson.

On May 30, the disaster declaration was expanded to include 38 counties in the central part of the state, who have a DUA deadline of July 3. Those counties are: Adams, Bond, Brown, Calhoun, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, DeWitt, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Iroquois, Jersey, Lawrence, Logan, Macon, Macoupin, Mason, McDonough, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Piatt, Pike, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Vermilion and Wabash.

Applicants for DUA should bring their Social Security number, and if possible, pay stubs or any other papers that show recent earnings and employment to the nearest Illinois Employment and Training Center (IETC). To locate the IETC nearest you may call toll-free 1-888-FOR-IETC (888-367-4382).

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: