Main Content

Additional Jurisdictions Designated For Federal Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
June 17, 2002
Release Number: 

Wise, VA - Disaster assistance has been made available for five counties and one independent city in Virginia, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today. The declaration covers tornadoes, severe storms, and flooding that occurred from April 28 through May 3.

The areas included in the declaration are Halifax, Pittsylvania, Prince George, Scott, and Wise counties and the independent City of Emporia. All areas were designated for Individual Assistance, which provides aid to individuals, families and business owners.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. The declaration is an extension of a declaration issued by President Bush that made assistance available to eight counties and one independent city.

"We remain committed to delivering assistance wherever it's needed and to making sure that every qualified individual and family receives the help they need to get back on the road to recovery," Allbaugh said.

Affected residents and business owners in all of the declared counties and independent city may apply for assistance immediately by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA, (1-800-621-3362) between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., Monday through Friday. Those who are speech- or hearing- impaired can call 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) to register. The deadline to register for assistance is July 5.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: