Deadlines Approach for Disaster Unemployment

Main Content
Release date: 
June 14, 2002
Release Number: 

Columbia, MO -- Friday, June 21, is the last day to file a claim for disaster unemployment assistance in Crawford, Dent, Jefferson and Ste. Genevieve counties; Monday, June 24, is the deadline in Washington County. The aid became available after President Bush issued a disaster declaration May 6.

Disaster unemployment assistance is intended for individuals who lost work due to the disaster and are not eligible for benefits under a state's regular unemployment insurance program. Farmers or other self-employed individuals and individuals who are denied regular unemployment insurance benefits may now be eligible for disaster unemployment assistance.

Information about how to file a claim is available at 800-788-4002.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top