Nine More Counties Designated for Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 11, 2002
Release Number: 

Columbia, MO -- Federal disaster funds have been made available for nine Missouri counties to help rebuild public property damaged by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding beginning April 24 and continuing, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

Eligible applicants include state and local government and certain nonprofit organizations in Boone, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Douglas, Livingston, Mississippi, Perry, Scott and Stoddard counties. They may apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

The funds were authorized under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on May 6 and made available through FEMA's Public Assistance program for state and local governments. With the addition of the nine new counties, Public Assistance is now available in 69 Missouri counties.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top