Deadline For Disaster Unemployment Assistance Approaching

Main Content
Release date: 
June 6, 2002
Release Number: 

Springfield, IL -- Residents of 30 southern Illinois counties who were unemployed as a result of severe storms, tornadoes and flooding have until June 24 to apply for federal Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) benefits, state and federal recovery officials said today.

"The DUA program, which is administered by the Illinois Department of Employment Security (IDES), extends coverage to self-employed people, part-time workers, farm workers and others who have lost employment as a direct result of the disaster which occurred between April 21 and May 23, and who are otherwise ineligible for Illinois state unemployment program benefits," Mike Chamness, state coordinating officer, said.

The availability of this program was triggered by President Bush's disaster declaration for parts of Illinois and extends to those living or working in any of the initial 30 southern counties eligible for individual assistance. The program is 100 percent funded by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The maximum benefits under the DUA program are $431 a week for a claimant with a dependent child, $385 for a claimant with a dependent spouse and $326 a week for an individual claimant.

Counties for DUA include: Alexander, Clay, Clinton, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Massac, Monroe, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Richland, St. Clair, Saline, Union, Washington, Wayne, White and Williamson.

An additional request for funding is being finalized to cover the 38 additional counties added to the disaster declaration on May 30. These counties will have a different application deadline.

"The program is designed to help those whose employment was interrupted by the disaster," said Robert Colangelo, federal coordinating officer for FEMA. "It helps them make ends meet until they can get back to work or resume their customary employment."

Applicants for DUA should bring their Social Security number, and if possible, pay stubs or any other papers that show recent earnings and employment to the nearest Illinois Employment and Training Center (IETC). The IETC offices in the affected counties are located in Cairo, Marion, Harrisburg, Carterville, Murphysboro, Enfield, Mount Vernon, Centralia, Olney, Effingham, Belleville, East St. Louis, Alton, and Glen Carbon. To locate the IETC nearest you may call 1-888-FOR-IETC (888-367-4382).

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top