33 Counties Designated For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 6, 2002
Release Number: 

Springfield, IL -- Disaster assistance for 33 Counties has been expanded to include aid for local governments affected by the severe storms, tornadoes and floods in Illinois, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

The counties are: Alexander, Brown, Calhoun, Cass, Clark, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Fulton, Gallatin, Greene, Jackson, Jasper, Jersey, Johnson, Lawrence, Macoupin, Mason, Menard, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Union, Wabash and Wayne.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and IEMA disaster recovery officials. Under the original declaration issued by President Bush on April 21, the counties were designated for aid to individuals, families and business owners.

"Our continuing commitment is not only to help meet the recovery needs of devastated families and businesses," Allbaugh said, " but to ensure that the vital community services they also depend on are restored as quickly and efficiently as possible."

Under the expanded assistance, Allbaugh said affected local governments in the counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities. Affected state agencies and certain private non-profit organizations in the 33 counties also are eligible to apply.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained to local officials at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly by IEMA and federal disaster officials.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top