Kentucky Disaster Recovery Update May 24

Main Content
Release date: 
May 24, 2002
Release Number: 

London, KY -- Nearly $17.5 million in federal grants or loans has been approved to help Kentuckians in 52 counties that were declared disaster areas by the President Bush following two separate spring storm systems that spawned tornadoes, flooding or hail storms in areas spread from west to east borders, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) reported today.

That figure does not include costs yet to be totaled to help the Commonwealth and local governments pay for cleaning up debris and for damages to roads, bridges and other public facilities.

The first storm during a March 17-21 period caused severe flooding that resulted in 30 counties being declared by the president as the first disaster. Since then, nearly $14.5 million has been approved for housing, individual family grants or low-interest loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration for victims in those counties.

On the heels of that flood disaster, tornadoes tore through a stretch of west Kentucky, during the April 27-May 10 period, devastating areas surrounding Webster and Breckinridge counties, pounding areas around Laurel and Pulaski counties with peach-size hailstones and causing more flooding. So far, nearly $3 million in federal grants or loans has been approved for persons in the 32 counties comprising this second disaster area.

  • A total of 5,223 residents in 52 Kentucky counties have registered for disaster assistance since President Bush declared the severe storms of March, April and May as major disasters.

  • Disaster housing checks totaling $5,671,982 have been issued to assist with temporary housing and minor home repairs. FEMA inspectors have completed 3,942 inspections.

  • More than 1,842 persons have visited the fixed Disaster Recovery Centers or mobile Disaster Recovery Centers seeking information including answers to questions about their disaster assistance application.

  • Kentucky officials are currently processing 2,917 requests for Individual and Family Grant (IFG) assistance and have approved $3,656,978. IFG may be used to cover serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance or other programs.

  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved nearly $8 million in low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters and businesses.

  • Eighty-eight Kentucky government agencies and 16 private non-profit entities have made requests for assistance from the FEMA/Kentucky Public Assistance program that provides funds for the repair of public facilities such as roads, bridges, public buildings and utilities, and for debris removal. Certain private non-profit organizations that operate eligible facilities may qualify for assistance.

  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance is available through the Kentucky Department of Employment Service for residents of the 24 Kentucky counties declared on April 4. The deadline for filing an application was Wednesday, May 15. Those 24 counties are: Bath, Bell, Bourbon, Boyd, Carter, Clay, Elliott, Fleming, Greenup, Harlan, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, McCreary, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Perry, Rowan and Whitley. Persons in the six counties, Floyd, Johnson, Knott, Magoffin, Martin and Pike, that were added to the April 4 disaster declaration on April 26, have a deadline of Thursday, May 30 to apply for assistance.

  • Nearly 4,700 persons have called t...
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top