Eligible Missourians In 19 Counties Can Apply for Federal Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 14, 2002
Release Number: 

Poplar Bluff, MO -- Residents and business owners in southeastern Missouri who were affected by storms and tornadoes between April 24 and April 28 are eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance. A total of 19 counties were designated on May 8 for federal aid including Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Douglas, Dunklin, Howell, Iron, Madison, Oregon, Ozark, Perry, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, St. Francois, Stoddard, Texas and Wayne.

Individual disaster assistance programs include: grants for short-term rental needs; grants to make minimal home repairs; low-interest U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loans to repair or replace damages to homes, businesses and personal property; grants to meet serious disaster-related needs not covered by other programs, and disaster unemployment assistance.

Registration for disaster assistance begins by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). For those who are hearing-or-speech impaired, the number is 1-800-462-7585. Recovery specialists take registrations from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

Callers should be prepared to provide the following information: name, social security number, income, address of the damaged property and a phone number where they currently can be reached.

Those who sustained flood and wind damage from the May storms can call their county emergency management director. People needing immediate help should call the American Red Cross at 1-866-438-4636.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top