Five Counties Designated For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 10, 2002
Release Number: 

Beaver, WV -- Two briefings have been set for city, county, and other government officials to explain how to apply for federal/state assistance for damage as the result of the recent severe storms, flooding, and landslides in West Virginia.

Disaster assistance for four West Virginia Counties has been expanded, and Logan County added, to include aid for state and local public facilities according to an announcement by the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. Under the original declaration issued by President Bush on May 5, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo and Wyoming Counties were designated for aid to individuals, families and business owners.

"Our continuing commitment is not only to help meet the recovery needs of devastated families and businesses," Allbaugh said, "but to ensure that the vital community services they also depend on are restored as quickly and efficiently as possible."

Under the expanded assistance, Allbaugh said, affected local governments in the five counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at meetings in Logan and Welch.

Officials from Logan and Mingo counties will meet with State and FEMA public assistance personnel at 11 a.m. Monday, May 13, at the 911 Center, 28-1/2 Main Ave., Logan.

A similar meeting will be held at 1 p.m. Wednesday, May 15, at Mount View High School, Welch, for officials from McDowell, Mercer and Wyoming Counties.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top