Main Content

Registration With FEMA Is First Step In Disaster Recovery Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
May 8, 2002
Release Number: 

London, KY -- Registration with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is the necessary first step in recovery for those persons in 12 Western Kentucky counties who suffered damages from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that began on April 27.

Federal Coordinating Officer Mike Bolch of FEMA emphasized today that "federal help can be received only after eligible persons with damages in the 12 Kentucky counties included in the presidential disaster declaration have made the call to FEMA on the national application registration line."

Persons who suffered uninsured damages from the disasters should call the toll-free teleregistration number 1-800-621-FEMA (1-800-621-3362). Persons with hearing or speech impairments should call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Registered applicants can use those same numbers with questions regarding the status of their requests. The toll-free numbers will be available for registrants from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

Counties included in the presidential declaration for individual assistance are: Breckinridge, Crittenden, Grayson, Hancock, Hardin, Henderson, Hopkins, McLean, Meade, Ohio, Union and Webster.

More than 2,700 applications for assistance have been received from the 30 Eastern Kentucky counties in the presidential disaster declaration for the severe storms and flooding of March 17-21. The deadline to apply for damage assistance from that disaster is June 7.

"We want all of those with disaster-related damages to make that application call, regardless of the extent of damages," said Kentucky State Coordinating Officer Cash Centers. "Even though they have insurance, they could be eligible for assistance for some of the damage not covered by insurance."

In the counties included in the declaration, housing assistance could be available for residents forced from their homes. Another aid source is low-interest U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loans to help residents and businesses cover uninsured losses.

Further, grants may be available for home repairs and other serious disaster-related needs. FEMA's Hazard Mitigation Assistance Program, which is designed to prevent future disaster damages, also has been activated by the declaration.

FEMA officials reminded applicants that before making the registration call, they should have available their name, addresses of the damaged property and where mail can be received, social security number, estimated household income, any insurance information and a telephone number where they can be contacted by an inspector. The applicants should make specific and detailed notes and photographs. Records should be kept of any out of pocket expenses made relative to disaster damages.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: