Flood Disaster Registration Deadline June 1

Main Content
Release date: 
May 1, 2002
Release Number: 

Wise, VA -- Residents of the Southwest Virginia disaster declaration area have one month from today to register for federal disaster assistance. A presidential disaster declaration on April 2 designated the counties of Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington and Wise and the city of Norton. Wythe County was later added for public assistance only.

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials say residents of the disaster-declared area should call the toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-3362. Those who have already registered but need to update personal information or have questions about their applications should call the FEMA Helpline, 1-800-621-3362. Both registration and Helpline services are available from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday through Friday and are accessible to the speech and hearing impaired at TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Since April 2, more than 1,700 Southwest Virginia residents have applied for disaster assistance and over $3 million in federal assistance has been approved. Public assistance projects for local governments and certain non-profit private organizations are also under way and as of May 1, the federal contribution totaled $333,000.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top