Main Content

More Disaster Assistance For Southwest Virginia

Main Content
Release date: 
April 29, 2002
Release Number: 

Wise, VA -- It has been almost a month since President Bush declared a major disaster because of flood damage in Southwest Virginia. The localities designated in the disaster declaration are Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise and the city of Norton. Wythe County was designated eligible for public assistance only. During that time, FEMA has received 1,693 applications for disaster assistance and has approved more than $2.5 million in combined assistance.

  • To date, 1,693 applicants have registered for disaster assistance.

  • More than 1,462 inspections have been completed. Housing inspectors are verifying damage to determine eligibility for FEMA disaster housing assistance.

  • $1.6 million in FEMA disaster housing assistance checks have been issued to more than 1,075 residents affected by the March flooding.

  • The Individual and Family Grant Program (IFG) has approved $530,000 in grants to help 190 families cover serious needs or overcome disaster-related hardship, injury or adverse conditions.

  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved $292,000 in low interest disaster loans to 21 individuals and businesses. SBA disaster loans are the primary form of federal assistance to help homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes affected by the disaster.

  • Disaster unemployment assistance through the Virginia Employment Commission is available to eligible individuals who are out of work due to the disaster and not covered by regular unemployment insurance.

  • Initial public assistance projects totaling $290,000 have been approved and more are expected. In Russell County, a project is underway to relocate damaged water lines; road repair has been approved in Tazewell County; and St. Paul in Wise County has a project to repair a damaged park. The public assistance funds are expected to rise dramatically when all projects in the disaster declared areas reach the final approval stage. Applicants were briefed and there were five kickoff meetings for public assistance on April 24.

  • 20,000 gallons of potable water was initially distributed through the Russell County Water & Sewer Authority for affected Dante, West Dante and Russell County residents. Up to 40,000 gallons more are available. An increment of 8,000 gallons is scheduled for delivery on May 1 with future deliveries as requested. It is not anticipated that the entire 40,000 gallons will be required.

  • Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) have been in operation in seven of the disaster declared counties of Southwest Virginia. The last of the mobile centers closed on Sunday, April 28. On Wednesday, May 1 at 7 p.m., the disaster recovery center in Wise will close permanently. The disaster recovery centers were visited by a total of 523 applicants.

  • FEMA community relations field officers continue to contact Virginia victims in the disaster-designated counties to assess their needs.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top