Counties Designated For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
April 19, 2002
Release Number: 

London, KY -- Disaster assistance for Lee, Letcher, Menifee, Morgan, Owsley and Powell Counties has been approved to include aid for local governments affected by the recent flooding and severe storms in Kentucky, the director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal, state and local disaster recovery officials. Kentucky was declared a disaster area by President Bush on April 4, 2002.

"Our continuing commitment is not only to help the recovery needs of devastated families and businesses," Allbaugh said, "but to ensure that the vital community services they depend on are restored as quickly and efficiently as possible. Ensuring that vital community services are restored as quickly as possible is part of that commitment to help Kentucky achieve a full and lasting recovery."

"I appreciate FEMA's quick response to our request to add additional counties," said Governor Paul Patton. "This addition to the federal disaster declaration means that FEMA's resources will be available to the commonwealth to help the citizens affected by the severe weather and the recent flooding recover as quickly as possible."

Under the expanded assistance, Allbaugh said the affected local governments are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly by state and federal disaster officials.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top