Main Content

Flood Victims May Qualify For Unemployment Insurance

Release date: 
April 17, 2002
Release Number: 

London, KY -- People unable to work due to the severe flooding that occurred in Kentucky in March may be eligible for disaster unemployment assistance, State Coordinating Officer Cash Centers said today.

Self-employed and unemployed workers who are not covered by regular state unemployment insurance programs may apply for this federally funded, state-administered assistance.

FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Mike Bolch said, "Anyone unemployed because of the floods should visit the nearest Kentucky unemployment field office to make application."

Victims must apply for this program by May 15 and may qualify for up to 26 weeks of assistance. The weekly benefits range from $118 to $341 per week.

There are 24 Kentucky counties named in the presidential flood disaster declaration in which residents may be eligible for unemployment and other federal/state programs. The counties are: Bath, Bell, Bourbon, Boyd, Carter, Clay, Elliott, Fleming, Greenup, Harlan, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Letcher, Leslie, Lewis, McCreary, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Perry, Rowan and Whitley.

Disaster unemployment assistance covers persons who:

  • Are unable to work because their place of employment was put out of operation, or were unable to travel to their workplace due to the effects of the flood damage;
  • Are self-employed but are prevented from working due to flood damage;
  • Have become the breadwinner, or major support of a household because the head of the household died as a result of a disaster;
  • Cannot work because of an injury resulting directly from the disaster.
  • Farmers and self-employed people who are normally not eligible for unemployment insurance benefits may also qualify.
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: