Cost To Repair Infrastructure To Be Shared By Federal, State And Local Governments

Main Content
Release date: 
April 16, 2002
Release Number: 

London, KY -- With President Bush's April 4 disaster declaration, substantial federal financial assistance is available to help Kentucky communities deal with all the extraordinary costs associated with the storms and flooding of March 17-21.

"These storms devastated roads, bridges and utilities, and taxed municipal resources for flood fighting and other protective measures in many communities," Kentucky State Coordinating Officer Cash Centers said. "Most of these communities would be hard-pressed to cover these costs without the help of federal disaster assistance."

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Public Assistance program reimburses seventy-five percent of eligible expenses, in accordance with the Robert T. Stafford Act. These include costs of debris removal and overtime for emergency protective services, as well as the repair and replacement of disaster-damaged public facilities. State and local governments share the remaining 25 percent of the costs.

"We encourage organizations seeking federal reimbursement for costs incurred because of the disaster to file the necessary Request for Public Assistance with FEMA," said Federal Coordinating Officer Mike Bolch. "For further information, non-profit organizations should contact their local emergency management agency."

Twenty-one Kentucky counties have been designated as eligible for public assistance. The counties are: Bath, Bell, Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Clay, Elliott, Fleming, Greenup, Harlan, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Lawrence, Leslie, McCreary, Magoffin, Perry, Rowan, Wayne and Whitley.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top