President Approves Disaster Aid For Kentucky Flood Recovery

Main Content
Release date: 
April 4, 2002
Release Number: 

Washington, DC -- The head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that federal disaster aid has been made available for Kentucky to help people and communities recover from the effects of drenching rains that hit state last month.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the assistance was authorized under a major disaster declaration issued for the state by President Bush. The declaration covers damage to private and public property from severe storms and flooding that occurred over the period of March 17-21.

Immediately after the President's action, Allbaugh designated the following 24 counties eligible for aid to stricken residents and business owners: Bath, Bell, Bourbon, Boyd, Carter, Clay, Elliott, Fleming, Greenup, Harlan, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Letcher, Leslie, Lewis, McCreary, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Perry, Rowan and Whitley.

The assistance, to be coordinated by FEMA, can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, emergency home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Additionally, Allbaugh said federal funds will be provided for the state and affected local governments to pay 75 percent of the eligible costs for restoring damaged public facilities in the counties of Bath, Bell, Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Clay, Elliott, Fleming, Greenup, Harlan, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Lawrence, Leslie, McCreary, Magoffin, Perry, Rowan, Wayne and Whitley. The declaration also makes cost-shared funding available to the state for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks.

Allbaugh indicated that damage surveys are continuing and additional counties may be designated for aid later based on the results of the assessments. He named Michael Bolch of FEMA to coordinate the federal relief effort.

Bolch said those who sustained losses in the 24 counties designated for aid to affected residents and business owners can begin the disaster application process by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will be available starting Friday, April 5, from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top